Show simple item record

dc.contributor.authorEUI Social and Labour Law Working Group
dc.date.accessioned2009-04-24T08:10:00Z
dc.date.available2009-04-24T08:10:00Z
dc.date.issued2009
dc.identifier.issn1725-6739
dc.identifier.urihttp://hdl.handle.net/1814/11214
dc.descriptionThe members of the EUI Working Group of Social and Labour Law are: Uladzislau Belavusau (Uladzislau.Belavusau@EUI.eu) Iris Benöhr (Iris.Benohr@EUI.eu) Irene Galtung (Irene.Galtung@EUI.eu) Ann-Christine Hartzén (Ann-Christine.Hartzen@EUI.eu) Nikolett Hös (Nikolett.Hos@EUI.eu) Anna Maciejczyk Jaron (Anna.Jaron@EUI.eu) Claire Marzo (Claire.Marzo@EUI.eu) Bruno Mestre (Bruno.Mestre@EUI.eu)en
dc.description.abstractThe place and legal value of social rights in the EU Charter is only one episode (albeit a long drawn out episode, lasting since 2000)in the ongoing struggle about the ‘fundamentalisation’ of social rights, which is the subject of the contributions to this collective Working Paper. In the European Union itself, another arena of this struggle was opened up more recently by the judgments of the European Court of Justice in the cases Laval, Viking and Rüffert, which are amply discussed in several contributions of the Working Paper. Issues relating to the recognition of a fundamental legal status to social rights also occur in other contexts than that of the European Union, namely in the development and monitoring of international human rights norms, and also in the national legal context. This Working Paper contains the combined output of current doctoral research at the EUI in these two fields: of international and European human rights law, and of comparative and European labour law. The contributions which the reader will find in the following pages take stock of the current debate on the fundamental status of social rights, and raise a number of interesting perspectives on how to carry that debate forward.en
dc.description.sponsorshipThe members of the EUI Working Group of Social and Labour Law are: Uladzislau Belavusau (Uladzislau.Belavusau@EUI.eu) Iris Benöhr (Iris.Benohr@EUI.eu) Irene Galtung (Irene.Galtung@EUI.eu) Ann-Christine Hartzén (Ann-Christine.Hartzen@EUI.eu) Nikolett Hös (Nikolett.Hos@EUI.eu) Anna Maciejczyk Jaron (Anna.Jaron@EUI.eu) Claire Marzo (Claire.Marzo@EUI.eu) Bruno Mestre (Bruno.Mestre@EUI.eu)en
dc.description.sponsorshipSecond Annual Open Workshop of the EUI Social and Labour Law Working Groupen
dc.format.mimetypeapplication/pdf
dc.language.isoenen
dc.publisherEuropean University Institute
dc.relation.ispartofseriesEUI LAWen
dc.relation.ispartofseries2009/05en
dc.rightsinfo:eu-repo/semantics/openAccess
dc.subjectFundamental/human rightsen
dc.subjectSocial rightsen
dc.subjectRight to information and consultationen
dc.subjectMedical rightsen
dc.subjectRight to fooden
dc.subjectEuropean citizenshipen
dc.subjectConstitutional Courtsen
dc.subjectConsumer’s rightsen
dc.subjectAgency of Fundamental Rightsen
dc.subjectIndustrial rightsen
dc.titleThe Fundamentalisation of Social Rightsen
dc.typeWorking Paperen
eui.subscribe.skiptrue


Files associated with this item

Icon

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record